Autonomous Threat Hunting

CALCULATOR · NO SCORES

Autonomous threat hunting calculator

Match your must-haves against what vendors publish, and size the review work before a trial.

In one paragraph

This calculator does two jobs. Part 1 lets you mark each of twelve capabilities as a must-have, a nice-to-have or not relevant, then shows which of the six vendors in the directory state each one on their public pages. Part 2 estimates the hours of human review an autonomous hunting system would need each week from the numbers you enter. It does not score or rank vendors, and it cannot price them, because none of the six publishes a list price.

Guide updated September 2026 · Autonomous Threat Hunting editors

Which vendors state your must-haves?

Set each row to Must have, Nice to have or Not relevant. Results update as you change them. Vendors stay in alphabetical order whatever you select; this is a filter, not a ranking.

Hunts start without a per-hunt request

Does the system decide what to hunt and start hunts on its own?

Queries data where it already lives

Does it query existing data platforms in place rather than copying the data?

New rules tested on historical data before release

Is each new detection backtested or retrohunted before it goes live?

Detection changes kept in version control

Do rule changes go through version control with review and rollback?

Findings arrive with corroboration or shown working

Does a reviewer see supporting evidence, not only a verdict?

Response actions staged for human approval

Does it prepare response actions that wait for a person to approve them?

Maps hunts or detections to MITRE ATT&CK

Are hunts or rules labeled with ATT&CK tactics and techniques?

Names its intelligence sources

Can you see which intelligence the system hunts on?

Publishes an open framework or specification

Is part of the method published openly so you can read it without a sales call?

States MCP support

Can AI tools connect to it through the Model Context Protocol?

States a security attestation

Does the vendor name a security attestation on its public pages?

Publishes a list price

Can you see a price before a sales call?

CapabilityAnvilogicArtemis SecurityCotoolMars SecurityNebulockVega
Hunts start without a per-hunt requestStatedDescribes agents that take threat intel through to deployed detection logic.StatedContinuous hunts run daily against a growing library and "100+ intelligence feeds".StatedAgents gather intel from the web, check relevance to the environment and propose detections.StatedHunts generated from threat intelligence "run them continuously against the data where it already lives".Stated"Vespyr hunts without a directive."Not publishedThe hunting page describes a user supplying the hypothesis; whether hunts start without one is not published.
Queries data where it already livesStated"One query across Splunk, Snowflake, Sentinel, S3, and more, without moving the data."Partly stated"Hot-path data ingested, high-volume data queried where it lives."Not publishedWorks through 40+ native integrations; whether data is queried in place or copied is not stated on the pages reviewed.Stated"Hunt across every log source, cloud, and endpoint without moving a byte."StatedHelix federated search "to get data just-in-time, not just-in-case".StatedFederated analytics: "No migration, ingestion, or egress."
New rules tested on historical data before releasePartly statedDescribes "validated, deployed detection logic"; what validation consists of is not published.Not publishedHow detections from hunts are reviewed before going live is not published.Not publishedHow proposed detections are approved before deployment is not published.StatedEach rule is backtested against 30 days of the customer's own data before it goes live.Stated"Every detection rule must pass a Retrohunt before deployment."Not publishedPromotion of a hunt to a detection is described; a backtest step is not published.
Detection changes kept in version controlStatedDetection-as-code with version control.Not publishedNot described on the pages reviewed.StatedCompatible with existing detection-as-code infrastructure; agent version control.Not publishedNot described on the pages reviewed.StatedRules exported to GitHub, with immutable version history, compare and revert.Stated"Every change has a diff, an author, and an approver."
Findings arrive with corroboration or shown workingNot publishedHow hunt results are presented for review is not published.StatedCorrelates identity, cloud, endpoint and SaaS signals during autonomous investigation.Not publishedNot described on the pages reviewed.StatedHands analysts "a corroborated shortlist rather than a scored queue".Partly statedThe LOCK framework includes a Check step; how findings are presented is not detailed.Stated"Every step of the hunt shows its work."
Response actions staged for human approvalNot publishedResponse actions are not described on the pages reviewed.StatedResponse actions are staged and require human confirmation.Partly statedDescribes Respond automation; approval steps are not described in detail.Not publishedResponse actions are not described on the pages reviewed.Not publishedResponse actions are not published.Not publishedResponse actions are not described on the pages reviewed.
Maps hunts or detections to MITRE ATT&CKStatedTuning agents and coverage scoring against MITRE ATT&CK.StatedStates "comprehensive MITRE coverage from day one"; tactic-level detail not published.StatedMaps the detection suite across sources onto MITRE ATT&CK to surface gaps.StatedProduces MITRE ATT&CK-mapped rules with a severity rating.StatedThe Learn step starts with a hypothesis mapped to MITRE ATT&CK.Stated"Promote it to a MITRE-mapped detection on the spot."
Names its intelligence sourcesNot publishedIntelligence sources are not named on the pages reviewed.Partly statedStates "100+ intelligence feeds"; individual feeds are not named on the pages reviewed.StatedAgents crawl the web for intel; custom intel sources including STIX/TAXII.StatedAdvisories from CISA, Mandiant, Unit 42 and Microsoft Threat Intelligence.StatedIntel from CrowdStrike, Mandiant, MISP and community feeds.Not publishedIntelligence sources are not named on the pages reviewed.
Publishes an open framework or specificationNot publishedNone found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNone found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNone found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNone found on the pages reviewed.StatedAgentic Threat Hunting Framework and Agentic Detection Engineering Framework on GitHub, MIT license.StatedDetection Skills, released 4 August 2026 as an open specification built on the Agent Skills format.
States MCP supportNot publishedNot stated on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNot stated on the pages reviewed.StatedCustom MCP listed among integrations.Not publishedNot stated on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNot stated on the pages reviewed.StatedMCP support.
States a security attestationNot publishedNot found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNot found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNot found on the pages reviewed.StatedSOC 2, per its September 2026 announcement.Not publishedNot found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNot found on the pages reviewed.
Publishes a list priceNot publishedNo list price. A calculator estimates data-lake compute and storage and states that savings do not include Anvilogic annual licensing.Not publishedNo list price on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNo list price on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNo list price. Its intel-to-detection feature is available to all customers at no additional cost, per the September 2026 announcement. Listed on AWS Marketplace.Not publishedNo list price on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNo list price on the pages reviewed. A sandbox is offered at sandbox.vega.io.

How this is calculated

Must-haves stated = the number of rows you marked Must have where the vendor's cell reads Stated. Partly stated and Not published both count as not stated, and each is listed so you can ask about it. Nice-to-have rows are shown but not counted. The rung filter compares your choice with the rung each vendor's own material describes on the autonomy ladder. Nothing is weighted or added into a score.

Not published is not the same as not supported. If a must-have reads Not published, put the question to the vendor; the checklist has the wording.

Open the checklist

How much review time will autonomous hunting need?

Autonomous hunting moves work from running hunts to reviewing what they surface. Enter your own numbers. The starting values are round numbers chosen only to show the arithmetic; they are not benchmarks, vendor figures or measurements.

  • Finding review: 8.3 hours per week
  • Detection review: 1.7 hours per week
  • Action decisions: 0.0 hours per week
  • Total review: 10.0 hours per week
  • Your available hours cover 100% of it

The review time you entered covers the work. Check it in a trial by timing real reviews.

Formula

Finding review = findings per day x days per week x minutes per finding / 60. Detection review = detections per week x minutes per detection / 60. Action decisions = staged actions per week x minutes per action / 60. Total = the sum of the three. Coverage = available hours / total hours x 100.

Capability cells are editorial readings of each vendor's public pages, reviewed September 2026. No vendor publishes a list price.

Frequently asked questions

Why does the calculator not show prices?
None of the six vendors in the directory publishes a list price on the pages we reviewed, so there is nothing to multiply. Ask each vendor for a written price basis, and remember that queries run in place are metered by your data platform, a separate line in the budget.
Why is there no overall score?
This guide does not score or rank vendors. The calculator counts only the must-haves you choose and shows every cell, so the decision stays with you.
What does Partly stated mean?
The vendor's pages describe part of the capability, or describe it without the detail the row asks about. The note under the cell says which part is missing.
Where do the review-time numbers come from?
From you. The starting values are round numbers that only show the arithmetic. Time a few real reviews in a trial and enter those instead.